As the organisers of the Athens Marathon. The Authentic look back on a record entry of 18,500 runners on Sunday for the 35th edition of their historic race, they are also looking to the future. In recent years the economic problems besetting Greece have had their impact on the race but, like Pheidippides of ancient legend and present-day marathon runners, they kept going. Now, as Kostas Panagopoulos, president of SEGAS, the Hellenic Athletics Federation, explained, they see a bright future on the horizon: “We believe that the Authentic Marathon has the right to host many more runners. In order to do so, we ask for the support of the Greek government. We need the State to build a new start for the Athens Marathon.”


Kenya’s Samuel Kalalei and Bedatu Hirpa Badane of Ethiopia wrote their names in history by becoming winners of the 35th Athens Marathon. In warm conditions and with the historic course presenting its annual challenge of rolling hills followed by cruel descent, Kalalei surged away from his compatriot Milton Rotich with seven kilometres remaining. Kalalei was able to celebrate his 23rd birthday a day early with victory in 2:12:17; Rotich, continuing his return to form after lengthy injury, finished second in 2:14:18 and Jonathan Kiptoo completed the all-Kenyan podium with 2:16:08.

The women’s race was only decided over the last few metres within the marble Panathenaic Stadium. Ethiopia’s Bedatu Hirpa Badane, a World Youth champion on the track four years ago, ran a personal best of 2:34:18, just four seconds ahead of Alice Kibor of Kenya. Last year’s winner on her marathon debut, Nancy Arusei, finished third but the Kenyan had the consolation of improving her best by over two minutes to 2:34:51.

The Athens Marathon. The Authentic proved more popular than ever with a record entry of 18,500 eager to experience the original marathon course from the town of Marathon to the 1896 Olympic Stadium in Athens.


Eliud Kipchoge and Mary Keitany are officially the top marathon runners of 2017. The Kenyans were announced as the winners of the AIMS Best Marathon Runner (BMR) Awards at the Gala in Athens on Friday. The event was organised by the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races (AIMS) and the Hellenic Athletics Federation, SEGAS. "The Athens Marathon. The Authentic" will be staged by SEGAS on the original course on Sunday with a record field of 18,500 runners.


The Association of International Marathons and Distance Races (AIMS), representing 435 of the world’s best distance races across 114 countries, including the Athens, Berlin, Boston, Chicago, New York & Tokyo Marathons held its 11th AIMS Marathon Symposium today (11 November 2017) in Athens, Greece.

 The Symposium was arranged in collaboration with SEGAS (the Hellenic Athletics Federation) and ‘Athens Marathon. The Authentic.’ and has been held annually since 2007.

Marathon, 10Km WIND, 5Km WIND-Morning, 5KmWIND-Afternoon

Athens Authentic Marathon

The day you have all been waiting is getting closer... Are you ready for the 2017 Athens Marathon?

Registrations are getting filled up at the last minute with the late ones, and we are getting ready for the big day! The bulk mailing of all bib number notification emails to registered runners will start within the next days, and you will soon get informed about your exact bib number, your starting block and how and when you may pick up your race kit from the ATHENS MARATHON EXPO & Registration Centre, at the Faliro Indoor Hall & Exhibition Centre (Tae Kwon Do Venue) on 09, 10 and 11 November 2017.

The bulk mailing of all bib number notification emails to registered runners will last about one week, so do not get worried if you are not the first to receive it. The bib number notification email will be sent firstly to those participating in the 10km Road Race, then in the 5km Road Race and last to the Marathon runners.

Starting lists will be announced in our website by the end of week.

See you all at the start line!

It is a fact! 18,500 runners will run the Authentic Marathon course creating a human chain of 42,195 meters from Marathon to Athens; 18,500 unique people that will prove once again the strength of human mind and will to achieve the goal.

Registrations for the Marathon Race closed yesterday morning, as for the first time in the event’s history the ultimate participation limit of 18,500 runners was met. The last time that registrations had closed long before the race was in 2010 but at that time the participation limit was only 12.000 runners.  Let us say once more that registrations for the 10km and 5km Road Race Morning have already closed since the opening day of the official 2017 registration period.

And if you have not yet register but you do wish to be there and join along with more than 51,000 other runners the Athens Marathon Event on 12 November at the Panathenaic Stadium, register now of the 5km ROAD RACE AFTERNOON. The event’s Organizing Committee is releasing today a limited number of entries in the 5km Road Race Afternoon – Basic Registration Level.  Visit our website and sign up now as tomorrow may be too late!