The world running organisation the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races (AIMS) is delighted to announce Wilson Kipsang and Edna Kiplagat as the first male and female winners of the AIMS Best Marathon Runner Award for 2013, as voted for by the AIMS Members, made up of more than 350 of the world’s leading and most prestigious distance races from over 100 countries and territories.

Wilson Kipsang and Edna Kiplagat’s outstanding achievements were given global recognition tonight (Friday 8 November 2013) at the inaugural AIMS Best Marathon Runner’ (BMR) Award Gala in Athens, Greece, staged by AIMS in collaboration with the Hellenic Athletics Federation (SEGAS) and the Athens Classic Marathon. The BMR Gala was sponsored by the Patron of AIMS and ACM, OPAP S.A., the leading gaming operator in Greece.

Wilson placed 5th in the London Marathon in April 2013 (in 2:07:47) before winning the Berlin Marathon in September 2013 in a World Record time of 2:03:23, breaking the previous record by 15 seconds.


Edna finished 2nd in the London Marathon in April 2013 (in a time of 2:21:32) before winning the World Championships Marathon in Moscow in August 2013 in a time of 2:25:44


AIMS President Paco Borao comments: “I am delighted that AIMS 350 races from over 100 countries have recognised the great achievements of these athletes in the spiritual home of the Marathon Movement, Athens. The key mission for AIMS is to foster and promote distance running throughout the world. I believe this Gala is an excellent way to work towards achieving that mission.”

There were several other awards presented at the Best Marathon Runner Award Gala. The awards and winners are as follows:

AIMS Green Award

The SuisseGas Milano Marathon received the inaugural ‘AIMS Green Award’ in recognition of the event’s excellent environmental practice including offering race participants a free day ticket for public transport. Also shortlisted for the award were Sweden’s GoteborgsVarvet Half Marathon and Germany’s BMW Frankfurt Marathon.

Further information and pictures to follow over the coming days.

AIMS Social Award

The inaugural ‘AIMS Social Award’ was presented to the Great Ethiopian Run for it’s outstanding work in the area of improving health and education in Africa.

Further information and pictures to follow over the coming days.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The AIMS Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Ingrid Kristiansen in recognition of her significant role in the development of the Marathon Movement. She was 4th at the LA (inaugural) Olympic Marathon for women in 1984 and the following year set a world record (or "world best" as IAAF called them then) of 2:21:06 in the London Marathon the following year. She won the London Marathon on three other occasions - in 1984, 1987 and 1988. Her world record lasted 13 years, until Tegla Lorupe beat it by 19 seconds in Rotterdam in 1998.

Further information and pictures to follow over the coming days.

About the AIMS Best Marathon Runner Award Gala

The purpose of the BMR Award Gala is to:

I. Announce and honour the best male and female Marathon runners of the year through the AIMS BEST MARATHON RUNNER (BMR) Award. The BMR Award replaces the AIMS World Athlete of the Year Award.

II. Recognise and honour exceptional Marathon figureheads and personalities for their contribution to the development of the Marathon movement.

III. Publicise and promote the best practice and initiatives of AIMS members (350+ race organizers) through the establishment of special environmental and social awards.

IV. Enhance the role, programs and services of AIMS.